Chocolate Tart

This week, I used Stephanie Jaworski’s (Joy Of Baking) recipe to make a chocolate tart (or pie). She calls it a pie, while I call it a tart since my crust is shallow and I baked it in a tart pan (my peers call it a tart as well, so I just call it that as well).

I had two helpers, which really helped with my picture-taking, since I am usually grabbing an equipment while trying to snap a good photo.

IMG_1321

Back to the chocolate tart.

I love watching and using Stephanie’s videos and recipes as she is so detailed with her procedure and explanations. For this recipe, the chocolate pudding filling was rich and scrumptious, but what really made me a fan of this recipe was the shortbread crust. I am in love with the crust; it was delicious, baked to a beautiful golden colour, and really easy to make. I opted out the whipped cream garnish as I think this is delicious enough.

So for the chocolate filling, first whisk together the dry ingredients (sugar, salt, cocoa powder and corn starch). I used 3 tablespoons of corn starch instead of 2 1/2, as the past times I have made this, the filling was too runny, hence I added more corn starch to thicken the pudding up a bit more.

IMG_9477

Then whisk in 80ml of milk and the egg yolks.

IMG_9478IMG_9469

Set aside. Heat up the cream and milk (320ml) until it starts to foam up.

IMG_9479Gradually pour the milk mixture into the cocoa mixture, whisking constantly.

IMG_9480

Don't mess in my kitchen!

Don’t mess in my kitchen!

Put this mixture back onto the stove, stirring constantly until it thickens to a mayonnaise consistency. Then strain the chocolate filling, just in case there were lumps.

IMG_9481IMG_9482

Mix in butter, vanilla extract and some chocolate

IMG_9483Cover it, and chill it in the fridge

IMG_9470

Now for the crust. Grease the tart pan with butter or spray with non-stick vegetable spray

IMG_9436

Process flour, icing powder, butter (I used salted butter and opted out the salt) until crumbly.

IMG_9484IMG_9485Pour the crumb mixture onto your tart pan and pat it on evenly.

IMG_9486Use a fork to poke holes into the dough, and freeze it for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat your oven.

IMG_9487

Ooh~ Ice cream!

Ooh~ Ice cream!

Bake it! After it has cooled down, spread the chocolate filling onto the tart.

IMG_9473

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

This is a recipe that I will definitely recommend! The crust is buttery and crisp, while the filling was velvety. This was so good that in one night, my family of five polished off more than half of the tart (or pie. Hmm. Still confused about that). Although I do recommend adding an extra half a tablespoon of corn starch. Other than that, a big thumbs up to Stephanie Jaworski!

One thought on “Chocolate Tart

Leave a Reply

