Chocolate Chip Cookies

After so many recipe trials, I have finally made a decent batch of… chocolate chip cookies

IMG_5270
IMG_0348

One thing that I can not successfully bake is the simple delicious, but oh so finicky- chocolate chip cookies. I can make cakes, cupcakes, meringues and other sorts of cookies, but not the classic. They either come out flat, spread too much, or far too underbaked (in my defense, the recipe that I tested did not specify how ‘underbaked’ the cookie should be). Here are embarrassing photos of my past attempts (and yes, I wanted to die finding and looking back at this sadness):

IMG_0383But now, I managed to whip up a yummy batch of cookies! I was studying numerous cookie recipes, and effects of certain ingredients, and after a while, I just thought to myself ‘Hey, I’m just going to make up my own recipe.’ I am glad this recipe worked, as I played around with the butter (cutting down the quantity from the usual 170-230g to only 130g, and half-melting it), and didn’t use the stand mixer at all (for my apprentice baker friends who don’t have mixers). Also, these cookies aren’t too sweet, and has the right amount of chocolate goodness. If any of you used this recipe, I really hope that it worked for you!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetSo I read a tip here from pinch of yum to use half-melted butter. I thought that I should do that as firstly it will make it easier to whisk the ingredients together, and secondly, my microwave hates butter. Even if I microwave the butter for 10 seconds on the lowest power, it will explode. I asked someone at home to half melt the butter for me while I was out, so that I could come home and quickly whip up the cookies. Sadly, the person melted the butter for too long, as seen in the picture below:

IMG_0246

But oh well, it still worked. And the butter slightly hardened up again as it cooled anyways. However, I will still try to half- melt it myself the next time I use this recipe again

Whisk together flour, salt, baking soda

IMG_0367Then whisk the butter, brown sugar and white sugar

IMG_0368In goes the egg, egg yolk and vanilla extract

IMG_0369

Then add the flour, and use a wooden spoon to fold it in.IMG_0370Then the important component. The chocolate chips. I used a combination of regular chocolate chips, and cutting up a chocolate bar. I also used m&ms for another batch of cookies

IMG_0372Cover it with cling wrap and chill the dough in the fridge for at least an hour (I know it is painful)

IMG_0277When that is done, get about 1-2 tablespoons of cookie dough and roll it into a ball with cool hands (you don’t want the heat of your hands to melt the dough or it will defeat the purpose of chilling)

You could also weigh it, I go by 35-40g per cookie.

IMG_0373

I love how the kitchen smells of delicious cookies!

IMG_0305

Grab one when they are fresh from the oven!

IMG_0312

Homemade cookies are definitely better than those artificial store-bought ones, and to top it off, simple to make (once you get the hang of it haha). Just remember to CHILL the cookie dough. REFRIGERATE IT! And enjoy~

IMG_0329

Recipe

Makes 24-28 cookies (depending on how big you want your cookies to be)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 130g unsalted butter, half melted
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips/chunks/m&ms
  1. Microwave the butter for 10-20 seconds (low power), until about half the butter has melted. Let it cool to room temperature
  2. Whisk together flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside
  3. Whisk the brown sugar, white sugar and butter together
  4. Add in the egg, egg yolk and vanilla extract, and mix
  5. Add about half of the flour mixture into the sugar mixture, using a wooden spoon to fold. Add in the second half and continue to fold (don’t overmix)
  6. Stir in the chocolate chips
  7. Cover with plastic wrap and chill the dough in the fridge for at least an hour (maximum 2 days)
  8. After chilling, line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Preheat your oven to 165°C.
  9. Take a heaping one or two tablespoons of cookie dough (35-40g) and roll it into a ball with cool hands. Place on the cookie sheet. Each ball should be a few inches apart
  10. Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes
Leave a Reply

