Simple Chocolate Cake

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
“Maxine, Ye Ye requested your chocolate cake.”
“What? Again? He doesn’t want me to make something new?”
“No, he told both your uncle and auntie to tell me that he wants your cake again.”

Thus I made this super easy chocolate cake again. The recipe is by Stephanie Jaworski from Joy of Baking, and you should probably know that I love this lady, her details and explanation and her conversions (YES!) makes her recipes so enjoyable to watch. This cake is my ‘go to’ chocolate cake, because it is so tasty, and you can make it in only 30min (not including oven time, of course). Everyone loves this cake (especially my relatives in Hong Kong); it’s chocolatey and moist and not too sweet. Here’s a link to the recipe.

What I love about this recipe is that you don’t need a mixer for the cake layers. So whisk together your dry ingredients (sugar, flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder). I prefer to sift my flour and cocoa powder, as I find that whisking the cocoa powder does not necessarily guarantee that the lumps will break up, and sifting the flour makes it lighter than when I merely use a whisk.
IMG_1016
Now to the wet ingredients. In a separate bowl, whisk together your eggs, oil, milk, vanilla extract and coffee (or water. I used coffee to help enhance the chocolate flavour. Plus, I like coffee haha.)I love that this cake does not require so many eggs. Sometimes I look at a delicious looking cake recipe, and gasp at the use of 6 egg whites (so many leftover egg yolks!)
IMG_1017
Add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients. I used a wooden spoon to mix. Ms Jaworski has told us not to be alarmed by the watery batter.
IMG_1018
Distribute between two cake pans (bottom of the pan is lined with parchment paper). I used a large ladle to ensure that there are equal amounts of batter in each pan.
IMG_1019
Bake it!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Now for the frosting. Melt the chocolate (I used the microwave), and have the butter at room temperature.
Mix the butter until fluffy and smooth, then sift in the powdered sugar (I used 150g, as opposed to 200g), add vanilla extract, and slowly pour in the melted chocolate.
IMG_1021

Yum... Chocolate frosting...

Yum… Chocolate frosting…

Assembling the cake is straightforward and easy. It’s simple, and does not need any decorations.
IMG_1022

Cut a slice and devour it!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hence, I highly highly highly recommend this chocolate cake. The recipe is so darn easy, and the result is so darn delicious; it is seriously worth your time making it.

Leave a Reply

