Vanilla Bean Cupcakes with White Chocolate Ganache (For Easter!)

So Easter Sunday is tomorrow, and I really wanted to make something cute…

These cupcakes are nice and fluffy, with a sweet vanilla flavour. I have used this recipe for the vanilla cupcakes before here, and I’m using it again because I really love the cupcakes and I hate wasting ingredients when trying out a new recipe and failing miserably (like what happened with the white chocolate buttercream I originally wanted to use). Plus, there are cute speckles of vanilla bean! The whipped white chocolate ganache is really tasty; smooth and able to hold its shape! Since it is Easter, I bought some mini chocolate eggs to garnish these cupcakes, and I love the pastel colours with the cream colour of the cupcake and frosting.

So let’s get started! (Warning: Frosting rant in the middle)

As I’ve mentioned earlier, I’ve already posted this vanilla cupcake recipe, so I didn’t take pictures of every single thing I did.
Sift the cake flour, all-purpose flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.

I didn’t have cake flour at that time, so I added some corn flour and more all-purpose flour (quantities will be at the end)

In a separate bowl, whisk together buttermilk, milk and egg whites.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Mix the sugar, vanilla bean and butter. Then add half of your dry ingredients. Later, mix in your wet ingredients + vanilla extract. Then add the rest of your dry ingredients.
IMG_1732
I decided to make both mini and standard-sized cupcakes. A tablespoon for the minis, and an ice cream scoop for the regular ones.
IMG_1733
Bake it to get yummy fluffy vanilla cupcakes!
IMG_1670

I really apologize for not taking photos for the whipped white chocolate ganache; I was testing the recipe and did not think it would work, so I did not take any photos. I’ll update this post if I make it again soon though.
Pipe the whipped white chocolate ganache onto the cupcakes (I used a star tip). Then, top them off with some mini chocolate eggs. I used Hershey because I love the pastel colours, but perhaps mini Cadbury eggs would be more ideal as they are smaller in size (I couldn’t find this in the supermarkets).
IMG_1081
IMG_1734

Sidetracking a bit: I actually experimented with both whipped ganache and buttercream for these cupcakes. The problem I have with frostings is that they melt so darn quickly in hot Singapore, so my piping usually slumps after about 1 hour outside (about 32ºC), and when I tried a recipe I found online for white chocolate buttercream, it was a disaster. (Pardon me while I go off topic and rant about this!) The frosting barely had any taste of white chocolate (I googled many recipes, and all had little white chocolate in it in proportion to the amount of frosting), it was very sweet, and it melted so quickly! That sucked as I really wanted to have a white chocolate frosting. So, I continued researching and discovered whipped white chocolate ganache (something I have never done before). It tasted so much better than the buttercream, but the important thing is whether the piping will stay after a couple of hours. So here’s my heat test; left the buttercream (left) and whipped ganache(right) in the kitchen for 30min.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The whipped white chocolate ganache held its shape, while the buttercream melted into mush. Even the chocolate egg melted onto it (Yuck!). The whipped white chocolate ganache was really.. interesting, it was so creamy after I left it for out for two hours (but had the taste of white chocolate goodness), but I guess it’s to be expected after leaving it out for so long. I would recommend keeping frosted cupcakes in the refrigerator; the cupcakes will still have a nice texture.

So, that’s it! I really think these cupcakes are cute!
IMG_1706

Recipe

Makes: 11 standard cupcakes (or 44 mini ones)

Ingredients for vanilla cupcakes

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cake flour (if you don’t have cake flour, just add another 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour and 1 tbsp corn flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 egg whites (room temperature)
  • 70g unsalted butter
  • 130g sugar
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract


Ingredients for whipped white chocolate ganache (you can double it if you want to pile on the frosting. Compare with the images above to see whether you want more frosting)

  • 1/3 heaping cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips

Mini chocolate eggs for decoration

Mini vanilla cupcakes:

1. Line a standard muffin pan with 11 cupcake liners (or two mini 1.5 tbsp muffin pans, 44 cavities.)
2. In a large bowl, sift the flours (+ corn flour if you’re going in that route), baking powder, baking soda and salt
3. In another bowl, whisk buttermilk, milk and egg whites
4. Using an electric mixer, cream together butter, sugar and vanilla bean on medium speed
5. Then add in half the dry ingredients, mixing on low speed
6. Add wet mixture and vanilla extract
7. Add remaining dry ingredients, beating until just incorporated
8. Scoop the batter into the cavities, using an ice cream scoop (or add around 1 tbsp if making mini ones)
9. Bake in a 190ºC oven for around ~13-15minutes; a toothpick inserted in should come out clean. (around 8-10min for mini ones)

Whipped white chocolate ganache:

1. Heat the cream on a stove (low heat) until bubbles begin to form at the sides
2. Add in the chocolate chips (I chopped up a white chocolate bar), and make sure they are even spread in the cream
3. Put the lid on the saucepan for two-three minutes
4. Use a whisk to beat the mixture until it becomes smooth
5. Let it cool to room temperature, and put it in the refrigerator for 1 hour.
6. Use a hand mixer to beat the ganache (1-2 minutes, don’t overbeat!) until it is thick and creamy

Leave a Reply

