Mini Cheesecake

My mother accidentally bought cream cheese that the supermarket froze, so she handed me the blocks of odd-textured cream cheese to work with. Cheesecake was the best option, and I decided to try Joy Of Baking’s individual cheesecake. Result? Delicious, creamy, adorable!

IMG_6263

Strangely my batter was extremely runny, as opposed to Ms Jaworski’s. I was so nervous when putting the cheesecakes into the oven, but surprisingly it came out alright. I didn’t even need to bake it longer than what the recipe states.

This cheesecake is so delicious, and it is really easy to make. So first, make the crust. I used a rolling pin to crush the digestive biscuits into crumbs. Mix it with sugar and melted butter.

IMG_6269Distribute into the muffin cups and press it down. Cover and refrigerate.

img_62471

Now to the filling. I had to process my cream cheese to get its texture back, so after that was done, I mixed it with the sugar and salt.

IMG_6270Mix in the eggs. (This is where my batter became really runny, and I got scared)

IMG_6265Mix in the vanilla. I substituted the sour cream with Greek yogurt, and increased the amount of lemon zest to a scant teaspoon. I love cheesecakes with a lemon tang.

IMG_6271Use an ice cream scoop to distribute the cheesecake filling

IMG_6254Bake it! It should be firm on the outside, but wobbly in the center

Refrigerate for a few hours. Painful, but worth the wait.

IMG_6268 My father likes to eat his cheesecakes with strawberry jam. Strawberry lemonade flavoured cheesecake? 🙂

What I would change in this recipe, is perhaps prebake the crust to make it crispier. Also, I might switch out some cream cheese for cottage cheese for a lighter texture, and for the cheesecake to be less creamy and rich.

Other than that, I really love this recipe and will definitely try it again! It tastes amazing!

 

Leave a Reply

